Find a job »
 Find a car »
 Find Real Estate »
News
Spokane
Idaho
Valley
Community
Region
Nation
World
Business
Sports
Lifestyle
Entertainment
Commentary
Letters
More topics
Full story list
Newstracks
Blogs
Book club
Archives

Obituaries
Editorial obituaries
Classified obits

Extra
Special sections
Forums
Health
Teens only
Weather
TV listings
Movie listings
For the record

Ads
Special sections
Classifieds
Find a job
Find a car
Find a Home
Apartments
Meeting place
Newspaper ads
How to advertise

Site map
Help
About S-R.com
News tip
Contact us
SR jobs
Privacy policy

Spokane.net




















Sunday, November 24, 2002

Archive of expanded tech stories

Last updated: Sunday, Nov. 24, 2002

Each Sunday, The Spokesman-Review and SpokesmanReview.com team up to bring you expanded stories from our technology page.

  • 11/24/02: New software is big step for Palm -- but can it catch up with Microsoft?
  • 11/17/02: Walkie talkies have staying power
  • 11/10/02: Microsoft consistently does hardware right

    Sunday, Nov. 3, 2002:

    Gizmo: Location device for kids has flaws
    Wherify Wireless, a start-up in Redwood City, Calif., has created a truly groundbreaking product: the world's first satellite location device designed for children.

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2002:

    Gizmo: Hip Sidekick falls short as a phone
    T-Mobile's new Sidekick wireless communicator is full of clever design ideas and is a bargain at just $199.

    Sunday, Oct. 20, 2002:

    Gizmo: The latest printers: Preserving memories on paper
    NEW YORK -- You can e-mail only so many digital images, and PC slide shows get old fast. Eventually, even the most ambivalent of digital photographers will want to make their own prints.

    Sunday, Oct. 13, 2002:

    Gizmo: Under $200 PC: You get what you pay for
    It's been about 20 years since a new Atari 400 or Commodore Vic 20 could be had for less than $200.

    Sunday, Oct. 6, 2002:

    Gizmo: Lego Galidor: Not all that good
    SAN JOSE, Calif. -- Its arms fall off, it has a banal computer game in the back and you have to watch television for it to fully interact. Could this possibly be Lego?

    Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002:

    Gizmo: MuVo: Big sound, big limitations
    In the high-tech universe, less is often more. Smaller and cheaper chips power endless combinations, turning handhelds into cell phones, phones into Internet browsers and digital cameras into camcorders.

    Sunday, Sept. 22, 2002:

    Gizmo: Magicsing: Karoake kit scores big
    I like to sing. I sing everywhere, even at work. A lot of us sing at work. A bunch of us have even rented a karaoke room in San Francisco's Japantown.

    Sunday, Sept. 15, 2002:

    Gizmo: Drill/radio: Charge your drill's batteries with rhythm
    DAYTON, Ohio -- People who work on big building and remodeling projects will tell you that it's important to arrive first on the work site in the morning so you can plug in your radio and crank it up before any of the other crews arrive.

    Sunday, Sept. 1, 2002:

    Gizmo: Two-way radios: 'Talkabout' easy as a talk in the park
    DAYTON, Ohio -- The prices on two-way radios for communication between family members are continuing to drop, and Motorola, a leader in the Family Radio Service field, is marketing its least expensive model, the Talkabout T4300.

    Sunday, Aug. 25, 2002:

    Gizmo: Laser printers: Fast, quiet and cheap
    NEW YORK -- Cheap color inkjets have grabbed most of the consumer market for printers, but that doesn't mean they are always the best choice, especially for heavy users.

    Sunday, July 28, 2002:

    Gizmo: Media storage system a quick and easy way to organize CDs
    DAYTON, Ohio _ First there were compact discs for music, then CD ROMs for computers, then game consoles with game software on discs, and now there are movies on DVD and all sorts of recordable digital discs.Book review: Evolution of the domain name system _ and its disputes
    DEWEY BEACH, Del. _ First, a warning: ``Ruling the Root'' isn't what you'd normally describe as beach reading. The book is dense, packed with acronyms and technical jargon.

    Sunday, July 14, 2002:

    Gizmo: Wearable computer creates personal connection and draws stares
    One day we may all resemble the half-mechanical Borg from ''Star Trek,'' with miniature computer displays glued in front of one eye and a glazed look in the other as we wirelessly surf the Internet without interruption.

    Sunday, July 7, 2002:

    Gizmo: Panasonic SV-AV10: Boasts in ingenuity what it lacks in practical use
    NEW YORK -- It's summer, which means plenty of weekend getaways. But without pictures to wow my friends at the office, it's as if those quick trips never happened.

    Sunday, June 30, 2002:

    Gizmo: Sony AIBO robotic dog: 'Wow' factor lasts about 10 minutes
    Sony's newest version of the AIBO robotic dog at $599, although a marvel of design and engineering, isn't much fun to play with and shows how little progress has been made in creating artificial intelligence that even remotely resembles a real living creature.

    Sunday, June 23, 2002:

    Gizmo: Nikon Coolpix 2500: What the amateur needs, plus a little more
    NEW YORK -- My home shows how your average Gen-X techie lives. There's a new Dell computer with high-speed cable Internet and CD burner. The entertainment system is crowned by a DVD player. I have a cell phone and a Palm handheld. Next up: a digital camera.

    Sunday, June 9, 2002:

    Gizmo: Blackberry puts communication at your fingertips
    NEW YORK -- In business, communication is key. Whether it's staying on top of the latest market alerts via e-mail or getting a quick briefing on a potential client's likes (and dislikes), those who can get information while on the go are ahead of the game.

    Sunday, June 2, 2002:

    Gizmo: Linux-based handheld is halfway there
    NEW YORK (AP) -- If you're one of those people who considers Microsoft a necessary evil -- you use its software at work but otherwise try to avoid it -- Sharp's new Linux-powered Zaurus handheld may look attractive.

    Sunday, May 26, 2002:

    Gizmo: Take thousands of digital audio files on the road
    SAN FRANCISCO -- How many times have I been at the wheel of my car, reached back to the rear floor and rooted around for a cassette tape while careening down a freeway at 60 mph?

    Sunday, May 19, 2002:

    Gizmo: GPS tracker most useful in civilization
    CASHAPAMPA, Peru -- I can read maps all right. I'm pretty handy with a compass, and I've got a decent enough sense of direction.

    Sunday, May 12, 2002:

    Gizmo: Portable music players store, cost more
    A serious music collector with hundreds of albums easily could fill a closet with vinyl records, CDs and tapes.

    Random quote: Spam blockers: Even good news isn't great
    Spam, spam, spam -- we all hate it, and we all want it to go away.

    Back to top


  • Back to technology home


    Advertise Online for as little as $125 per month